DiBiHo: Digital Credentials for Higher Education Institutions

Together with the Hasso-Plattner-Institut (HPI) and the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD), the Technical University of Munich (TUM), Germany is working on the project "Digital Credentials for Higher Education Institutions" (HEI, German: Digitale Bildungsnachweise für Hochschulen - DiBiHo), which is funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF).

Goal

The project was launched to explore a trusted, distributed, and internationally interoperable infrastructure standard for issuing, storing, presenting, and verifying digital academic credentials in a national and international context. Therefore, the project aims to define goals in digital credentials for German Higher Education Institutions independent of specific service providers or vendors.

Preliminary Work

The basis for this is, among other things, the work taking place within the Digital Credentials Consortium (DCC): In 2018, twelve internationally leading universities, including MIT, Harvard, UC Berkeley, TU Delft, HPI, and TUM, founded the Digital Credential Consortium (https://digitalcredentials.mit.edu/) to design and build unforgeable credentials using blockchain technology and aiming for a global standard for a reliable infrastructure to exchange digital credentials and academic certificates.

Based on the white paper "Building the digital credential infrastructure for the future" from the DCC, the BMBF-funded project DiBiHo is developing a proof of concept (PoC) for various use cases at German Higher Education Institutions. This includes the specification of a reference architecture and the data model, as well as the development of prototypes and recommendations on the future operating, operator, and support models. Model processes for generating, storing, transferring, verifying, and revoking (in case of error or withdrawal) digital credentials are specified and evaluated.

The project seeks to incorporate key preliminary work and conclusions from similar projects worldwide, for example, "Plattform international Student Mobility" (German: Plattform inter*national Studierendenmobilität - PIM) funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) and European projects such as EMREX with the ELMO data schema, Europass, European Blockchain Partnership (EBP), European Self-Sovereign Identity Framework (ESSIF), European Student Card Initiative, W3C Verifiable Credentials (VC)/Decentralized Identifier (DID) as well as results from the Groningen Declaration Network (GDN). Essential European data standards from the areas of Single Digital Gateway (SDG), Online Access Act (German: Onlinezugangsgsetz - OZG), XHochschule (XHEIE), and the eIDAS regulation are also included.

Duration, Scope, and Research Funding

The DiBiHo project runs from 01.11.2020 to 31.12.2022 (approval period) and has a total funding volume of € 1.94 million. It is funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) under the funding code: M534800.

Institutions and Persons Involved (under construction)

  Technical University of Munich (TUM)
  Dr. Hans Pongratz, Dr. Matthias Gottlieb, Felix Hoops
 

  Hasso-Plattner-Institute (HPI)
  Prof. Dr. Christoph Meinel, Alexander Mühle, Daniel Köhler, Katja Assaf

  German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD)
  Alexander Knoth, Kathleen Clancy, Rami Alkubaty, Leo Peters

Contact 

Dr. Matthias Gottlieb
Tel.: +49 (89) 289 - 22735
E-Mail: matthias.gottlieb@tum.de
Dr. Hans Pongratz
E-Mail: pongratz@tum.de

DiBiHo: Digitale Bildungsnachweise für Hochschulen

Die Technische Universität München (TUM) arbeitet zusammen mit dem Hasso-Plattner-Institut (HPI) und dem Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienst (DAAD) an einem durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) geförderten Projekt für digitale Bildungsnachweise für Hochschulen (DiBiHo).

Ziel

Die Erforschung eines vertrauenswürdigen, verteilten und international einsatzbereiten Infrastrukturstandards für die Ausgabe, Speicherung, Anzeige und Überprüfung akademischer Zeugnisse und Bildungsnachweise im nationalen und internationalen Kontext. Somit dient das Projekt der von Fachverfahrensherstellern unabhängigen Zieldefinition im Bereich digitale Bildungsnachweise (Digital Credentials) für deutsche Hochschulen.

Vorarbeiten

Grundlage dazu bilden u. a. die Arbeiten im Digital Credentials Consortium (DCC): 2018 gründeten zwölf international führenden Universitäten, darunter MIT, Harvard, UC Berkeley, TU Delft, HPI und TUM, das Digital Credential Consortium (https://digitalcredentials.mit.edu/), um fälschungssichere Zeugnisse mithilfe der Blockchain-Technologie und dem Ziel eines weltweiten Standards für eine vertrauenswürdige Infrastruktur zum Austausch digitaler Zeugnisse und akademischer Leistungsnachweise zu konzipieren und aufzubauen.

Basierend auf dem Whitepaper "Building the digital credential infrastructure for the future" des DCC wird im BMBF-geförderten Projekt DiBiHo ein Machbarkeitsnachweis (Proof of Concept – PoC) für verschiedene Anwendungsfälle an deutschen Hochschulen durchgeführt. Dies umfasst die Spezifikation einer Referenzarchitektur und des Datenmodells sowie die Entwicklung von Prototypen und Betriebs-, Betreiber- und Support-Modellen. Musterprozesse für die Generierung, Speicherung, Übertragung, Verifikation und Aufhebung (im Falle von Irrtum oder Aberkennung) von digitalen Bildungsnachweisen werden konkretisiert und evaluiert.

Die Projektarbeiten von DiBiHo berücksichtigen entscheidende Vorarbeiten und Erkenntnisse, beispielsweise aus dem vom Bildungsministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) geförderten Projekt „Plattform internationale Studierendenmobilität“ (PIM) und europäischer Projekte wie EMREX mit dem ELMO-Datenschema, Europass, European Blockchain Partnership (EBP), European Self-Sovereign Identity Framework (ESSIF), European Student Card Initiative, W3C Verifiable Credentials (VC)/Decentralized Identifier (DID) sowie aus dem Groningen Declaration Network (GDN). Ebenso werden essenzielle europäische Datenstandards u.a. aus den Bereichen Single Digital Gateway (SDG), Onlinezugangsgesetz (OZG) und XHochschule (XHEIE) und die eIDAS-Verordnung einbezogen.

Laufzeit, Umfang und Forschungsfinanzierung

Das Projekt DiBiHo läuft vom 01.11.2020 bis 31.12.2022 (Bewilligungszeitraum) und hat einen Gesamtförderumfang von 1,94 Mio. €. Es wird gefördert vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) unter dem Förderkennzeichen: M534800.

Beteiligte Institutionen und Personen (im Aufbau)

  Technische Universität München (TUM)
  Dr. Hans Pongratz, Dr. Matthias Gottlieb, Ulrich Gallersdörfer, Felix Hoops
 

  Hasso-Plattner-Institut (HPI)
  Prof. Dr. Christoph Meinel, Alexander Mühle, Daniel Köhler, Katja Assaf
 

  Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst (DAAD)
  Alexander Knoth, Kathleen Clancy, Barbara Schwarzwald, Leo Peters

Kontakt 

Dr. Matthias Gottlieb
Tel.: +49 (89) 289 - 22735
E-Mail: matthias.gottlieb@tum.de
Dr. Hans Pongratz
E-Mail: pongratz@tum.de